Saturday, April 13, 2024
HomeIran News NowIran Opposition & ResistanceTwenty MEPs: Reject Iran-Belgium Treaty for the Sake of Peace

Twenty MEPs: Reject Iran-Belgium Treaty for the Sake of Peace


Members of the Belgian Parliament

July 6, 2022

Urgent letter to Belgian colleagues

Dear Colleagues in the Belgian Parliament,

On behalf of the Friends of a Free Iran in the European Parliament, we draw your attention to a treaty to be voted next week at the Belgian Parliament. The treaty is between the Belgian government and the Iranian regime on the transfer of sentenced persons.

We ask our colleagues at the Belgian Parliament to reject the agreement for the transfer agreement between Belgium and the Iranian regime. This transfer will pave the way for the release of Assadollah Assadi, the Iranian regime’s terrorist diplomat, sentenced to 20 years in prison by the Antwerp Court and other terrorists, and gives a green light to religious fascism ruling Iran to continue its criminal activities and terrorism on European soil.

Such an agreement will result in more crimes and assassinations in Europe and unless we all take a firm stand, this will not be the last of these deadly terrorist plots.

We call on you to reject this treaty and agreement for the sake of peace and security. Sincerely,

Javier Zarzalejos, MEP from Spain
Ryszard Czarnecki, MEP from Poland
Stanislav Polčák, MEP from Czech Republic
Gianna Gancia, MEP from Italy
Susanna Ceccardi, MEP from Italy
Anna Bonfrisco, MEP from Italy
Hermann Tertsch, MEP from Spain
Franc Bogovič, MEP from Slovenia
Maite Pagazaurtundúa, MEP from Spain
Antonio López-Istúriz White, MEP from Spain
Milan Zver, MEP from Slovenia
Petri Sarvamaa, MEP from Finland
Ladislav Ilcic, MEP from Croatia
Ivan Stefanec, MEP from Slovakia
Ljudmila Novak MEP from Slovenia
Gerolf Annemans, MEP from Belgium
Marco Campomenosi, MEP from Italy
José Manuel Fernandez, MEP from Portugal
Zdzisław Krasnodebski, MEP from Poland
Romana Tomc, MEP from Slovenia