Thursday, September 21, 2023
HomeStatementsStatements: Human RightsIran: Coronavirus Death Toll in 408 Cities Exceeds 96,000

Iran: Coronavirus Death Toll in 408 Cities Exceeds 96,000

MEK announced on Friday, August 28, that over 96,000 people have lost their lives due to the novel coronavirus

NCRI-50According to the Health Ministry, 28 provinces with 93% of the country’s population are in a state of red or alert


  • Deputy Health Ministry: We will probably live with the COVID-19 virus for up to two years. We are currently in a critical situation, most of the provinces of the country, especially the northern provinces and Tehran, are red.
  • Iranian regime’s “Medical Council”: It was a mistake not to predict how long the Coronavirus would last correctly. Some reopenings fueled the spread of the virus. The tough battle is going to be this fall. Doctors and nurses are exhausted, many of them have become ill, many died, four private clinics are closed every week … Every day we hear the news of a colleague’s death. All these have impacted the morale of doctors and nurses.
  • Vice president of Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad University of Medical Sciences: The number of infected in the Province is one and a half times the national average.

The People’s Mojahedin Organization of Iran (PMOI/ MEK) announced on Friday, August 28, 2020, that the Coronavirus death toll in 408 cities in Iran had exceeded 96,000. The number of victims in Tehran is 23,355, Khorasan Razavi 6,775, Mazandaran 4,668, Khuzestan 6,447, Isfahan 4,320, Lorestan 4,117, Golestan 2,766, Fars 2,698, Kurdistan 1,946, North Khorasan 1,519, Semnan 1,242, Central Province 1,231, Ardabil 1,132, Chaharmahal and Bakhtiari 657, Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad 595, and South Khorasan 514.


A spokesperson for the Health Ministry announced today, “The provinces of Tehran, Mazandaran, Gilan, Qom, Isfahan, Khorasan Razavi, East Azerbaijan, Kerman, North Khorasan, Semnan, Yazd, Zanjan, and Qazvin are in a red situation. The provinces of West Azerbaijan, Alborz, Fars, Lorestan, Hormozgan, Ardabil, Bushehr, Kermanshah, Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad, South Khorasan, Central Province, Ilam, Chaharmahal and Bakhtiari, Golestan and Khuzestan are also on alert.” These 28 provinces comprise 93% of the country’s population.

Secretariat of the National Council of Resistance of Iran (NCRI)

August 28, 2020