HomeIran News NowIran Opposition & ResistanceJoint Statement of 56 Nobel Laureates In Support of Free Iran Summit...

Joint Statement of 56 Nobel Laureates In Support of Free Iran Summit 2022

Statement of 56 Nobel Laureates in support of Free Iran 2022

As a landmark achievement for the Iranian Resistance, fifty-six Nobel Laureates expressed their support for the Iranian National Council of Resistance’s road map for a free, democratic and non-nuclear Iran while condemning the former and latter dictatorial rule of the country.

Among the most brilliant minds of our generations, the signatories of this letter cited the UN Human Rights Council report about the Iranian regime’s atrocities and the rising number of executions and capital punishment under Ebrahim Raisi.

The Nobel laureates also joined hundreds of leaders, lawmakers, and human rights activists from all over the globe to express their support for NCRI President-elect Mrs. Maryam Rajavi’s 10-point plan for the future of Iran.

The full text of the letter:


Joint statement of Nobel Laureates

In support of the Free Iran Summit 2022

July 10, 2022

We, the undersigned Nobel laureates, express our deep concern over the appalling and deteriorating state of human rights in Iran.

In his latest report presented to the UN Human Rights Council on June 21, 2022, UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres expressed deep concern over the rising number of executions in the Islamic Republic of Iran, as well as “patterns of arbitrary deprivation of life due to excessive force used by the authorities against border couriers, peaceful protesters and those in detention, continued with impunity.”

While Hassan Rouhani ended his eight-year term last summer with nearly 5,000 executions, in comparison the number of executions has surged since Ebrahim Raisi became the regime’s president. Nearly 480 people have been executed since he took office.

Since the beginning of 2022, anti-regime demonstrations and protests have persisted by various social sectors in cities and towns across Iran as the Iranian people have risen up to demand their rights.

The Iranian regime, facing crises in all internal and external arenas, sees the only way out in intensifying repression, terrorism, warmongering, and acceleration of its nuclear program. To achieve this objective, last year, Khamenei was forced to abandon the forty-year theatrics of “reformists versus fundamentalists” in his regime and installed Raisi as the president to impose a much harsher rule. Raisi is one of the officials responsible for the 1988 massacre of 30,000 political prisoners in a few weeks, 90% of whom were members and supporters of the Mujahedin-e Khalq (PMOI/MEK). The victims’ only crime was insisting on their support for the MEK.

On the other hand, the Iranian regime is trying to spread despair among the youth by claiming that there is no alternative to its rule and that the only remaining choice is between the current theocracy and the former monarchical dictatorship. This is while the Iranian people in their demonstrations and protests are constantly chanting that “Neither the Shah, nor the Mullah, damned be both of them”.

We, the Nobel laureates, join hundreds of prominent personalities from the five continents and tens of thousands of Iranians outside Iran to express solidarity with the Free Iran World 2022 Summit for freedom and democracy in Iran. We believe that the great desire of the Iranian people for freedom is represented in the opposition leader Maryam Rajavi’s 10-point plan for the future of Iran, which calls for universal suffrage, free elections, and a market economy, and advocates gender, religious, and ethnic equality, a foreign policy based on peaceful coexistence, and a non-nuclear Iran.


President José Ramos-Horta, President of Timor-Leste, Nobel Peace Prize, 1996, Timor-Leste

  • Professor Barry C Barish, Nobel prize, Physics 2017, USA
  • Professor Georg Bednorz, Noble prize, Physics 1987, Germany
  • Professor J. Michael Bishop, Nobel prize, Medicine 1989, USA
  • Professor Thomas R. Ceck, Nobel prize, Chemistry 1989, USA
  • Professor Aaron Ciechnover, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2004, Israel
  • Professor John Maxwell Coetzee, Nobel prize, Literature 2003, South Africa
  • Professor Elias Corey, Nobel prize, Chemistry 1990, USA
  • Professor Johann Deisenhofer, Nobel prize, Chemistry 1988, USA
  • Professor Gerhard Ertl, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2007, Germany
  • Professor Joachim Frank, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2017, USA
  • Professor Jerome Friedman, Nobel prize, Physics 1990, USA
  • Professor Sheldon Glashow, Nobel prize, Physics 1979, USA
  • Professor David Gross, Nobel prize, Physics 2004, USA
  • Professor John Lewis Hall, Nobel prize, Physics 2005, USA
  • Professor Oliver Hart, Nobel prize, Economics 2016, USA
  • Professor Alan Heeger, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2000, USA
  • Professor Richard Henderson, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2017, USA
  • Professor Dudley Herschbach, Nobel prize, Chemistry 1986, USA
  • Professor Roald Hoffmann, Nobel prize, Chemistry 1981, USA
  • Professor H. Robert Horvitz, Nobel prize, Medicine 2002, USA
  • Professor Louis J. Ignarro, Nobel prize, Medicine 1998, USA
  • Professor Elfriede Jelinek, Noble prize, Literature 2004, Austria
  • Professor Takaaki Kajita, Nobel prize, Physics 2015, Japan
  • Professor Brian Kobilka, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2012, USA
  • Professor Roger D. Kornberg, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2006, USA
  • Professor Finn Kydland, Nobel prize, Economics 2004, Norway
  • Professor Jean- Marie Lehn, Nobel prize, Chemistry 1987, France
  • Professor David MacMillan, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2021, UK
  • Professor Barry Marshall, Nobel prize, Medicine 2005, Australia
  • Professor John C. Mather, Nobel prize, Physics 2006, USA
  • Professor Paul Milgrom, Nobel prize, Economics 2020, USA
  • Professor Patrick Modiano, Nobel prize, Literature 2014, France
  • Professor Paul Modrich, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2015, USA
  • Professor Edvard Moser, Nobel prize, Medicine 2014, Norway
  • Professor May-Britt Moser, Nobel Prize, Medicine 2014, Norway
  • Professor James Peebles, Nobel prize, Physics 2019, USA
  • Professor William D. Phillips, Nobel prize, Physics 1997, USA
  • Professor John Polanyi, Nobel Prize, Chemistry 1986, Canada
  • President José Ramos-Horta, President of Timor-Leste, Nobel Peace Prize, 1996, Timor-Leste
  • Professor Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, Nobel prize, Medicine 2019, UK
  • Professor Charles M. Rice, Nobel prize, Medicine 2020, USA
  • Professor Sir Richard J. Roberts, Nobel prize, Medicine 1993, UK-USA
  • Professor Michael Rosbash, Nobel prize, Medicine 2017, USA
  • Professor Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2016, France
  • Professor Randy Schekman, Nobel prize, Medicine 2013, USA
  • Professor Richard Schrock, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2005, USA
  • Professor Hamilton Smith, Nobel prize, Medicine 1978, USA
  • Professor Vernon Smith, Nobel prize, Economics 2002, USA
  • Professor Wole Soyinka, Nobel prize, Literature 1986, Nigeria
  • Professor Morio Vargas Llosa, Nobel prize, Literature 2010, Peru
  • Professor Sir John E. Walker, Nobel prize, Chemistry 1997, UK
  • Professor Arieh Warshel, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2013, Israel
  • Professor Stanley Whittingham, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2019, USA
  • Professor David J. Wineland, Nobel prize, Physics 2012, USA
  • Professor Sir Gregory P. Winter, Nobel prize, Chemistry 2018, UK
  • Professor Harald zur Hausen, Nobel prize, Medicine 2008, Germany